AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: WOUNDED~ JASINDA WILDER

Wounded | [Jasinda Wilder]

War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal.

The one impossibility in my life is love.

And then I meet HIM.

War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man’s very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven’t been through it, there’s no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you’re dead.

Now the only thing that can save me is HER.

c61f7-prettyaddtogoodreads

audible_logo__V372080617_

5bc94-4stars

carrie

***RECEIVED THIS AUDIO BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW***

WOUNDED12

Well what can I say, I love Jasinda Wilder, and to have a chance listen to yet another audiobook of hers I was excited. I didn’t read the synopsis on this one , I jumped head first and I was floored! WOW… this book is more darker than I have read in awhile, and at first it took me a minute to figure out what type of book this was, but when I figured it out, I wasn’t sure how to feel about it. It was a good book don’t get me wrong, but I did have alot of questions.

This is the first audio book that I have listened to where the male and female characters shared a chapter, When the female was speaking we had a female and when the male was speaking the male was in. It was different than what i was used to due to that fact, but it blended well with two narrators. The narrators themselves really got in the role of Hunter and Rania

The story takes place in Iraq, Rania a young Arabic girl struggling to survive in the war of Iraq. She turns into a prostitute, and witnesses death all around her. She has no family, no mother, no father, and her brother was now dead. At this point she meets Hunter, the American solider that she saved from interchange of American soldiers and Iraq soldiers.

Hunter is an American Solider, serving in Iraq. With no family, and his best friend Derrick dead, himself injured now, he turns to Rania. Rania does not speak English and Hunter only speaks English. Hunter watches while she prostitutes- and has that sick feeling that he doesn’t like. Rania has to do this- she does this to survive, to eat. However my question is why would Hunter want to engage with a prostitute? Diseases? . But I than have to turn that side of my brain off and realize that Wounded is about sacrifice, healing and surviving and of course love!

At this point , the story moved fairly quickly, and the characters fall in love and get married quickly.

The book couldn’t be read in one sitting for me- well listened :).. It was pretty deep at some points that I had to walk away.

Over all, I enjoyed the story- was it realistic? Yes

Would I recommend to others? Only if you are into the dark stories

Was the narration unique”? Yes- with dual POV made the book more interesting.

Wounded by Jasinda Wilder

WOUNDED-WRITTEN BY JASINDA WILDER-NARRATED BY: GREG SULE WILSON AND ALEXANDRIA STEVENS-LENGTH: 8 HRS AND 20 MINUTES- FORMAT: UNABRIDGED-RELEASE DATE: 4/24/2013-PUBLISHER: SETH CLARKE

89478-purchaselinks

http://www.audible.com/pd/Erotica-Sexuality/Wounded-Audiobook/B00CH7MZ3O/ref=a_search_c4_1_2_srImg?qid=1389975506&sr=1-2

AMAZON EBOOK: http://amzn.to/1btxb5i

Leave a Reply

