REVIEW: THE BACKUP BOYFRIEND~ RIVER JAYMES 5 STAR REVIEW

The Backup Boyfriend (The Boyfriend Chronicles, #1)

Professionally, Dr. Alec Johnson has almost reached his goals. As this year’s recipient of a humanitarian award with his ex, Dr. Tyler Hall, Alec’s work with the homeless is about to be recognized. Unfortunately, his personal life sucks because now he has to attend several events alongside Tyler—with his ex’s new boyfriend in tow. In an attempt to lift his mood and break out of his rut, Alec purchases a motorcycle he has no idea how to start.

Dylan Booth doesn’t have time for Dr. Clueless and his fickle 1964 Harley, but the cocky mechanic can’t say no to the request for help. Having spent his teen years on the streets, and losing his best friend to HIV, Dylan decides teaching the do-gooder how to ride is the least he can do. But watching Alec flounder in his ex’s company throws Dylan into protector mode, and the confirmed hetero introduces himself as Alec’s new boyfriend.

The ex suspects Dylan is lying.

Alec claims Dylan’s plan is insane.

And Dylan’s not sure he can fake being gay.

But he’s a master bullshitter, and the phony PDA soon turns ultra-hot. Alec can’t afford to get attached, and Dylan’s learned everyone eventually leaves. Unfortunately, playing the backup boyfriend is starting to feel way too real…

CONTENT WARNING: This book contains Man-on-Man action, adult situations, and language.

c61f7-prettyaddtogoodreads

5

1d01e-tracy-black-n-white

“Backup boyfriend?”

“You know. The Boyfriend substitute, at least that’s how I use the term. He’s not a real boyfriend, just a convenience. For display purposes only. Sometimes used to make the ex jealous.”

backupboyfriend Collage

I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review so I went into reading it without really knowing much about it, I didn’t look at the reviews or the blurb. I like to not know much about books I read. I love m/m books and under that heading is GFY books which I also love( GFY~ Gay for you), this book falls under that heading, but for a story with a character who doesn’t like labels I won’t use labels!

I will however tell you how much I truly loved this book!

Alec is a very successful doctor who runs a free clinic for the less fortunate. When he breaks up with his boyfriend, who also happens to co own the clinic, his life seems to fall apart. I really felt for Alec at times, he really didn’t know how to act now that he was single. He didn’t want to appear like he falling apart so he did what every sane man does, he buys a motorbike!

Enter Dylan, motorbike mechanic and straight! When Alec struggles with his new purchase Dylan is the one he goes to. When Dylan sees Alec struggle with a visit from his ex and new boyfriend, he steps up to the plate and becomes the backup boyfriend.

What follows is a story about men finding friendship with each other, they are comfortable together and this leads to walls coming down, walls that they didn’t know where there. When Dylan gets annoyed at a party he ends up kissing Alec, a nice fake kiss….that doesn’t stay fake for long. This side of the relationship grows quickly, they move fast without wither of them knowing what is really happening or where it’s going. For Dylan this is perfect, he doesn’t do commitment or labels. But for Alec who wants to know what everything means, this doesn’t sit well and he pushes Dylan….but unfortunately he pushes him away.

I won’t tell you anymore of the story as you really need to read this story, and if I tell you everything then you won’t have the enjoyment I had in reading it. The story followed a full range of emotions and I really did feel them. There were times I wanted to hold the characters as they were suffering so much…and then there were times I wanted to shake them for being so bloody stupid. I was totally dragged into this story, I like stories that don’t let me go and this was one of them! It was well written and I felt it flowed well, there was no skimming over parts of this book, I wanted to read every last word.

I highly recommend this book to everyone ❤

paragraph divider 10

Author info:

River Jaymes

website
twitter username
About this author

By day, River works as a (mostly) mild mannered physician in a remote Alaskan town. And she’s accumulated the wacky stories that come with the job. At night, the author’s inner badass comes out to play. River likes to read and write books with varying levels of humor and plenty of hot, steamy sex between two hunky men.

River’s other interests include medicine, snow, sled dogs, snow, snowmachines, snow, medivacs in the middle of the night, snow . . . you get the drift.

PURCHASE LINK

One thought on “REVIEW: THE BACKUP BOYFRIEND~ RIVER JAYMES 5 STAR REVIEW

  1. Really good review, Tracy. I like how you said that it lead to walls coming down. I agree. The thing is, and I hope you don’t mind me saying this but the whole back story with Dylan and his “past” was good but it’s nothing I haven’t seen before. I don’t know, even though he had a best friend that was gay, most “straight” guys carry around a lot more issues than Dylan and he seemed totally cool with messing around with Alec. I would have liked to seen more internal struggle. Either way Tracy, I can’t wait to read the 2nd part of the book. Have you heard when she thinks she’ll finish it?

Leave a Reply

